WIAW #8: Deadline Edition

Hey friends! I’ve been crazy busy, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to join the What I Ate Wednesday party!

I’m currently on the count down for my scholarship application, so food has been a little less of a priority than usual. I’ve been making sure to fuel my brain to get me through. I’ve definitely learned that the best thing you can do for yourself in stressful times is nourish your body with the unprocessed, whole foods. I’m not talking perfection here, certainly not, but I do know a little green smoothie action goes a long way. Convenience is key, too, so on-the-go and make ahead meals have been my savour. Let’s take a look:

Breakfast: Gluten-Free Oatmeal Blueberry Flax Pancakes (click here for recipe)

I simply make a batch the night before or while I’m getting dressed in the morning. Then I refrigorate them (or wrap in paper towel until room temp) to make them easy to take to school. Put in a reusable container and packed in my lunch bag, my pancakes become an unconvential “to go” breakfast that I can eat between classes as pancake “cookies.”

***

Lunch: Sweet and Spicy Rainbow Quinoa Salad (recipe soon!)

Quinoa is my favorite grain (well, “pseudo-grain” if you want to get technical; quinoa is really a seed!) right now. It’s packed with protein (and all the necessary amino acids at that!) and fiber, not to mention delicious—gotta love its light and airy texture. I like it best mixed with lots of textured veggies, such as corn, peas, and carrots. I sprinkle a little Braggs Liquid Aminos and some herbs, and I’m good to go. Making a big batch to last all week is key. Trust me, if you make it flavorful and nutritionally dense, you won’t get bored.

***

Dinner: Roasted butternut squash, red pepper, and black bean enchaladas

I’m seriously so excited about this recipe. I was inspired by Emily‘s version but had to add a little twist of my own. Making it less time-consuming was important, too. My tip? Add nutmeg to roasted squash. It’s AMAZING.

***

Fun: Chocolate-Glazed and Funfetti Vegan Baked Donuts

And for the times that you just need to step away from your work, baking donuts is always encouraged. I brought a big batch (~20 donuts…which is a lot if you’re working with one donut pan with 6 cavities) to my AP European History class on Monday. Baking the donuts relieved my stress, and eating them relieved my friends’ stress. I’d say that’s a win-win situation! Plus, who doesn’t love cute, homemade donuts?

Favorite Quote of the Day: “Mr. [insert my history teacher’s name here], these donuts are baked, not fried, and vegan. So by my calculations, they are the equivalent of a carrot.” <— HAHAHA! I love my swimmer friends <3.

What are you eating this Wednesday? Is there anything you’re counting down to? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

 

14 responses to “WIAW #8: Deadline Edition

  1. I have the most amazing luck- I bought a donut pan and my oven broke the same day. Can’t wait till I can get a new oven and break in that donut pan!!

  2. So did you have one of the donuts??
    they look great, I wish I had a donut pan. Those enchiladas look quite yum as well. Nutmeg would be a great add in there for sure.

  3. I’m counting down to my ‘A’ levels! 40 days– oh no! I love those donuts by the way!:D

  4. buttonss - Cherie

    I love quinoa! I prefer it so much more over rice.
    Oh man all of your eats today look delicious, Im going to try replicate your dinner.

  5. Awww those doughnuts look amazing!!! YUM! And I love baking as a break. That quinoa looks delicious!

    Happy WIAW!!!

  6. survivingcandyland

    Those donuts look so good. Making my stomach grumble. I am going to have to use your gluten free pancake recipe. They look delicious.

  7. I love quinoa too! Those doughnuts look amazing! Where’s the recipe? Happy WIAW 🙂

  8. Hmm, wonderin’– does the word salad mean that your quinoa-veggie mix is cold?!
    and whoa! squashy enchiladas yum!
    So glad you’ve found ways to nourish your lil body whilst workin your brains out (but fingers-crossed that all of it will pay off!)

    xo
    -hannah

  9. The donuts look amazing. Recipe, please?

  10. I know what you mean about being busy! All of your Wednesday eats look fantastic! I’m loving the look of that roasted squash 🙂

  11. Those donuts look so good! I want one! 😀

  12. I like those pancakes, though blueberries are getting so pricy again. But guess I can autumnize them by adding pumpkin & apple cubes instead 😉 Have to give them a go soon!

Leave a Reply

