WIAW #10: “If it isn’t broke, maybe fix it” Edition

Hey bloggies! How are you? If you’ve been following my posts lately (or rather lack thereof), then you know I’ve been quite the busy bee. Senior year is no joke, my friends. Neither is the fact that my hands are turning orange again. (Hello, fall!) But that’s neither here nor there.

Honestly, before this week, my eats were pretty monotonous. My criteria was fast, filling, healthy, and delicious. Luckily, my favorites fit perfectly. If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. However, I’ve been wanting something more. I’m still working with the same requirements, but I want to challenge myself to expand my horizons. I also want to blog as much as I used to because I miss you all. The only change is that the format might be different. What do you think about more “What I Ate” posts and recipes? I’d love to hear what you’d like to see!

Anyway, if I’m going to get this off the ground, I’ve got to start somewhere….and what better way to kick off WIA posts than with a What I Ate Wednesday party hosted by Peas and Crayons? I definitely look forward to it every week!

 

Breakfast: chocolate hemp protein muffin (made in the microwave!) with fresh berries and drowned in unsweetened almond milk.

[Click here for the recipe. I’m currently working on some tweaks, but this one is still my favorite!]Β 

***

Lunch: crispy tofu bites with roasted kabocha squash (FAVORITE!) and roasted broccoli. Unpictured: tomato sauce for dipping and a juicy plum.

Sometimes love hurts turns you orange. Oh, what we do for love!

***

Dinner: Amy’s Non-Dairy Gluten-Free Burrito with steamed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, carrots, sugar snap peas, and zucchini).

Verdict? The texture of the tortilla was really good (especially for being GF), and the filling was filling (no pun intended) but didn’t make me feel weighed down. Cooking it in the oven made all the difference. It was delicious, so I will definitely stock up when they go on sale (which is often) to keep in my freezer for busy nights.

***

Dessert: homemade cashew chocolate chip cookies (gluten-free and vegan!).

I’m still working on the recipe to make the cookies spread correctly when baked (I ended up with a melted cookie mess haha), but these are CRAZY DELICIOUS. It’s hard to believe that they’re made with all good-for-you ingredients such as raw cashews, gluten-free oats, and dark chocolate. Love Love Love.

***

Do you eat the same things in rotation (or even every day) or do you constantly change it up? What’s the best thing you ate today? And just for fun: what’s the craziest thing you’ve done for love?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

15 responses to “WIAW #10: “If it isn’t broke, maybe fix it” Edition

  1. buttonss - Cherie

    The microwave muffin looks delish. its amazing that you can make things like that in the microwave.

  2. Orange skin is worth it for the deliciousness of winter squash, carrots, and sweet potatoes. πŸ™‚

  3. Girl your eats look yummy! I have yet to try Kabocha but fingers crossed I’ll be able to get hold of one soon! Love the sound of your breakfast muffin πŸ™‚ can’t wait for the recipe πŸ™‚ happy WIAW!!

  4. I am going to have to try Amy’s Non-Dairy Gluten-Free Burrito with steamed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, carrots, sugar snap peas, and zucchini). because I am needing new recipes to try now that my doctor made me go on a Gluten free and dairy free diet

  5. yum! I hear you on eating things that work for you. I do that but sometimes mix it up when I can afford to. But I like to know that I’ll stay full if I need to be out for hours.
    turning orange? ppsh we need our delicious squashes and sweet potatoes. Love them!
    I lvoe Amy’s foods. they really taste home made and they’re filling and healthy too.
    best thing I ate today? oats!

  6. Yummy eats! I’m going to make that protein muffins sometime, it looks so good! Perfect for a quick protein-filled snack! πŸ™‚

  7. Wow that protein muffins looks awesome! Especially if it’s microwavable! I’m definitely coming back for that recipe!

  8. food that turns you orange is also the most delicious food!! haha sweet potatoes, pumpkin, carrots, YUM! those cookies look delicious

    i always need to change up my eats. i get bored really easily!

  9. I try so hard to change it up but it ends up being more like I change something once a week, which is still okay πŸ™‚

  10. Great eats! I have never had a kabocha but they are all over food blogs, so I am going to have to seek them out at our local farmer’s market! I have a few regular go-to meals, but I am always trying new things!

  11. survivingcandyland

    Sometimes eating monotonous things is good. I sometimes get in the habit of eating similar things because I just love the way they taste. Why not change something that is good? I think your eats look good tho.

  12. I talked about eating the same things often in my WIAW this week! I often rotate until I get tired of everything then I look for something new!

    Those cookies looks amazing! I can’t wait for the recipe πŸ™‚

  13. I kind of eat things in an unplanned rotation, but I avoid eating the same thing two days in a row, that way I don’t get bored of it!

  14. Yum! The crispy tofu bites look good!!! πŸ˜€
    I do eat some stuff on a daily basis – nut butter, honey, cereal.. to name a few πŸ˜‰ but I love to try different stuff everyday!

  15. All your eats look great, especially your breakfast! I love your veggie loads too πŸ™‚ I’m a huge rotational eater πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

