WIAW #12: ACCEPTED Edition

Hey there! How’s your Wednesday going? Happy Hanukkah to all my Jewish friends who started celebrating last night. I’m personally gearing up for Christmas on Sunday, which I know will be lots of fun. Whatever you celebrate, I hope your holidays are filled with lots of friends and family, good food, and relaxation.

[Go ahead, bake some cookies!]

My holiday break started off with a bang! After months of lost sleep, tears, and waiting, I am excited to finally be able to say that I’m going to college. Even though the school that accepted me is not one of my top schools, it’s good to know that I can go somewhere. 1 down, 18 more to go. Wish me luck!

And now, without further ado, it’s time for this week’s WIAW, hosted by the lovely Jen @ Peasandcrayons.

Here’s the food that’s been fueling my writing. 12 college apps are in, but I still have 7 more to go. Am I really applying to 19 schools? Haha.

Breakfast: buckwheat quinoa pancakes + apples

I love the real food ingredients and delicious taste. It really amps up the usual pancakes. Seriously, Gena can do no wrong. 

Lunch: sweet potato, steamed veggies, and refried beans + an apple (unpictured)

I’ve been playing around with my eats quite a bit lately, but I can’t seem to find exactly what I’m looking for. I remember a similar combo a year or two ago, and it seemed to work quite well.

However, I stopped eating lots of beans when I had some digestion problems (specifically gas–sorry TMI) a few months ago. Anyone else have this problem? 

Dinner: 2 homemade vegetable masala burgers + eggplant fries with tomato sauce

You know you love a recipe when it’s committed to memory just like this one is for me. Unfortunately I have to watch the sweet potato + carrot aspect, though. My hands are too orange already!

Dessert: black bean brownie with coconut butter + raspberries

I was feeling pretty snack-y today, so other eats included (but were not limited to) multiple bowls of fruit, raw cashews (from the freezer—yum!), watermelon, crackers, and salad.

How are you celebrating the holidays? Do you have any fun plans?

11 responses to “WIAW #12: ACCEPTED Edition

  1. You’re applying to nineteen schools?! That’s crazy! 🙂 Good luck girl! I’m sure you’ll end up in the perfect place 🙂

    Your eats look fabulous!

  2. um ok that sweet potato pancake looks delish.
    this girl does not know it like the back of her hand! do you have a link?

  3. and now i see it’s a homemade marsala burger. which sounds EVEN better.

  4. As a long time vegetarian, You body will eventually get used to the beans. You may have periodic bouts with “the wind” but for the most part it’ll be ok. Beans are my Life! Eveything looks very tasty!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    CONGRATS GIRL!!! That is so exciting! I know what ya mean…it feels nice to know you can go SOMEWHERE!! Those veggie burgers look AMAZING!!! I love homemade burgers…so much better than store bought!

  6. Congrats I the acceptance!! I should hear back from my first school soon. It’s my safety, but it will be exciting to know nonetheless.

    I need to try eggplant fries!! Thats my favorite veggie, especially when paired with tomato!

  7. Congratulations!

    I have to watch my lentil and broccoli intake…oh goodness the gas. 😉

    Is that masala burger recipe on your site? It sounds AMAZING.

  8. Congrats on the acceptance! It’s such a relief isn’t it?!

  9. love the look of those eggplant fries…yum!

Leave a Reply

