Agave Strawberry Buckwheat Muffins

Hey, friends! How was your holiday?

As Allie said this morning, you know you’re getting older when Christmas is more about giving than receiving. My favorite gift this Christmas was simply having my family all under one roof. My uncle, my grandmother, my mom and I are not exactly the model nuclear family, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Having a loving family is more than enough of a present (which I am thankful for each and every day), but there was something a little more this year…

A new camera, specifically an Olympus Pen E-PL1! It’s the guts of an SLR camera without all the weight. Score! I can already tell we’re going to be good friends.

Eager to learn all I can, I spent a good chunk of time with this baby yesterday. I’m just working with iAuto mode right now, but I hope to get the confidence to try out my own settings soon.

hmm... lesson one: figure out how to reduce yellow-ness in candle lit photos

Do any of you awesome photographers have any tips? I see lots of reading Ashley’s photography posts (her photos seriously make my mouth water!) and researching in my future.

[Ashley’s Lemon Basil + Grilled Corn Pasta]

**

For now, though, I do have a recipe for you. I’ve been holding off on posting some of my recipes because my photos have been… well… crap. Luckily, with the help of my new camera and beautiful daylight, I’m feeling re-inspired again.

These muffins are perfect for breakfast or a bedtime snack. Since they’re lightly-sweetened and full of (gluten-free) whole grains, they’ll keep you full and focused without the sugar crash. I personally love heating them up before cuddling on the couch with my favorite book. Ah, the joys of winter break…

The great thing about the buckwheat flour in this recipe is that it’s gluten-free but does not require any crazy flour mixing to mimic glutenous flours. I don’t know about you, but when I bake I like to keep it simple. Sometimes I just don’t want to mix a million different flours and pray like crazy that my muffins will stick together.

Source

Do not fear the buckwheat! Although I am a fan of both Arrowhead Mills’ buckwheat flour and my homemade buckwheat flour, your tastes may be different. The pre-packaged flour is usually made from toasted buckwheat, or kasha, so it has an earthier taste. If you’re new to buckwheat, I recommend making your own flour by buying raw buckwheat + grinding it in your coffee grinder, Vita-Mix, or food processor until it resembles the texture of flour.

Agave-Sweetened Strawberry Buckwheat Muffins 

Makes 6-7 muffins, but feel free to double it for a whole dozen

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour (120g)
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt (scant)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2-3 TBS agave syrup (I used 2, but I would recommend 3-4 for normal taste buds)
  • modified flax egg (1.5 tsp ground flax seed + 2 TBS hot water — give it a few minutes to gel and stir with a fork)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup strawberries (or more!), chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Mix buckwheat flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine almond milk, applesauce, agave syrup, flax egg, and vanilla extract.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Mix until combined. (At this point, add more almond milk if your batter is too dry. Buckwheat flour is full of fiber so it really soaks it up!)
  5. Fold in strawberries.
  6. Evenly distribute batter among 6-7 muffin tins.
  7. Bake for 24 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

What’s your favorite part about the holidays? What kind of camera do you have?

 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

5 responses to “Agave Strawberry Buckwheat Muffins

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    The pics look so nice with your new camera! The muffins sound delicious too! I love buckwheat flour….definitely trying these out!!!

  2. Awesome new camera, the pics of your muffins look so great! It looks like a delicious recipe, thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Pingback: WIAW #11: Sale Edition | kabochavore

  4. Your muffins look delicious! Congrats on the new camera!

  5. Pingback: WIAW #17: Testing Overload Edition | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

