WIAW #11: Sale Edition

Heya! Can you believe it’s already Wednesday? I’m really starting to get into the relaxation swing of things and can hardly imagine going back to school next week. Oh well, at least there is one good thing about Wednesday

Yesterday was kind of a weird day of eats, so I considered not posting at all. But hey, life happens. Sometimes you sleep in until noon. Sometimes you grab a handful of food rather than sitting down to a full blown meal. Sometimes all you want is fruits and veggies (okay, ALL the time, but regardlesss). Basically, sometime came yesterday.

Pinned Image

After a glorious 10 hour sleep (yes, I went to bed at 2AM and woke up at noon; I’m seriously convinced I’m nocturnal), I had a giant bowl of chocolate protein ice cream made with vanilla sun warrior + cocoa powder + cinnamon.

Always a favorite.

Fueled up and ready to go, my mom and I headed to the mall. Thanks to a gift card from Christmas (thanks, Nan and Mom!) and a crazy-amazing sale, I got all of this from Madewell for only $8 (2 pairs of jeans, 1 V-neck shirt, + 1 scarf). Score!

Madewell is the ONLY place that fits. At. All.

These jeans fit me like a glove. Seriously.

Once home, I snacked on my props while I played with my new camera. I’m crazy about these agave-sweetened strawberry buckwheat muffins (vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, DELICIOUS.)

Lesson #1 of food blog photography: if you want to have some pictures to share with your readers, save some goodies to photograph before you eat them all. I suppose I still have some things to learn since my supply quickly dwindled. 😛

Soon after the photo sesh, I headed off to yoga after a few bites of leftover roasted broccoli, butternut squash, and pinto beans (random?).

Much later in the evening I made a curry stir-fry with bell peppers, yellow squash/zucchini, green beans, and broccoli. I was in need of some healing ginger and turmeric after a strengthening yoga practice. It’s funny how I always seem to crave curry after yoga.

However, all I really wanted was a gooey, roasted purple sweet potato. Story of my life.

Swoon. These babies are right up with there with kabocha squash on my list of favorite foods. That’s saying something, folks!

Fun fact: while I cooked, I played Where’s Waldo with the mixed veggies my family had for dinner. Well, they used to be mixed at least. Now there’s only corn and a few lonely peas to be spoken for. Clearly my family calls me the veggie garbage disposal for good reason!

Dessert (or whatever you would call it at this point) was chocolate banana soft serve. A dash of peppermint extract made it an extra special treat. Mmm, I love the holidays!

Other delicious snacks were enjoyed as well. Sometimes my hand was just too quick for the camera!

What’s your favorite brand of jeans? And are you still enjoying holiday desserts? Hey, we still have one more holiday to go! Woo woo.

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

P.S. I’m not loving all the night photography I’ve had to do lately. Actually, let’s be honest, most of the time I’m at home it’s “night.” Ugh. Any tips for working with the darkness?

8 responses to “WIAW #11: Sale Edition

  1. That chocolate protein icecream at breakfast looks so tasty! Nice deals 🙂

  2. Ice cream for breakfast! I want some!! 😛
    I love True Religion, HCO, and A&F jeans =)

    • Ice cream for breakfast is the best, but I must admit it’s not such a great idea when it’s freezing outside. I ate it like a champ with a fuzzy blanket wrapped around me. [Oh, and here’s the recipe, if you would like.] HCO jeans, are great, too. I’ll have to check out the other brands, too!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Mmm that chocolate protein icecream sounds delish! Whats the recipe!?

  4. Your breakfast looks delicious….I can’t wait to try it at home!

  5. That chocolate protein ice cream sounds and looks amazing! We neeed the recipe! 😀

  6. I always say “oh, I’ll take pictures later!” and then by the time I get around to it I have like, two left. And they’re usually the ugly ones because I eat the good looking ones first. I can totally see why you would eat them all first though. Those muffins sound delicious!

  7. I love Hudson jeans, but they are so darn expensive. 😦
    Purple sweet potato?!?

Leave a Reply

