Goals for 2012

Okay, guys (girls?), it’s time to get serious. I don’t know about you, but I cannot take another diet pill/cardio machine/workout video advertisement or magazine article/tv segment about weight loss in the new year. I’m all for getting fit and healthy, but the media seems to focus largely on appearance. Sure, some people need to lose weight for their health, some need to gain some, and some need help maintaing. If it’s for better health, I 100% support you and am cheering you on all the way. But regardless, I want you to keep one thing in mind:

[Source]

You are beautiful just the way you are.

A number on a scale is just that, a number. So get fit, get strong, get healthy, but never lose sight of the real beauty that is inside.

[Source]

Whew. I don’t know about you, but I feel better now. I just can’t take any more beauty-bashing! Start 2012 off strong by knowing how amazing you are, not by lamenting the things that didn’t go your way in 2011. Mmmkay?

***

Now onto my New Year’s thoughts. For this year’s edition, I thought I would do a little something different. Inspired by Caitlin @ HealthyTippingPoint, here are some of my goals based on 3 categories (personal, college, health/fitness).

Personal:

  • Put myself out there. I’m naturally introverted, but that doesn’t mean I have to be un-involved. Even though I’m taking a rigorous course load right now (and probably will in college, too), I want to be more involved with my  friends.
  • Hold my tongue. I truly believe that honesty is the best policy. However, there is a time and place for everything, and sometimes I need to learn to keep certain things to myself. I’ll continue to be 100% honest if I’m asked, but if it’s not crucial that I volunteer my thoughts, I will try to use discretion.

College (fall 2012):

  • Choose wisely! I’ve applied to 19 schools, so hopefully I’ll have a selection to chose from when it’s time. I want to make an informed decision based on happiness and finances. If I’m at peace with my decision, then I know it’s the right one.
  • Keep in contact with my family. I love my family and am going to miss them when I go off to college. No matter where college takes me, I want to call my mom a few times a week + emails.
I’m lobbying for an iPhone for college hardcore. Seriously. [Source]
  • Be involved in a few clubs/activities. Like I said in #1, I’m pretty introverted and dedicated to my studies. In college I want to branch out but not overextend myself. Choosing just a few clubs/activities that I really love will keep me happy but not overwhelmed.
  • Manage money wisely. I honestly have no clue how the college money situation is going to go because I’m not sure what I’ll need while I’m there. No matter what, I want to use the skills my mom taught me and always have a safe amount of savings.

Health/Fitness:

  • Evolve my workouts and stay active. I’m a yogi through and through, but I know the importance of cross-training. This will become especially important when I go to college because I may not have access to a yoga studio. Perhaps I’ll try swimming?
  • Drink more water. I can’t even believe I’m saying this. Seriously, I used to be a fish! Now sometimes I’m so busy I forget to drink. Aim for 64 oz a day.
  • Indulge in more (healthy) treats. I eat a diet heavy in fruits and veggies, but could use a little more spice in my life. Indulging is good for the body and mind, and I oddly do not do enough of it.
  • Make at least one new recipe a week (inspired by LVP). Every week, I’ll blog about a new recipe or two that I try. Hopefully this will help me try new things and continue my love for cooking. (*However, in college this may be hard to do. We’ll see!)
These are on the list! [Source]
  • Write more Operation Beautiful notes. I LOVE these! I smiled the whole day after posting one, just thinking about all the other girls who needed it, too.
What are your goals for 2012? I can already tell 2012 is going to be a good one! 
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee

 

 

4 responses to “Goals for 2012

  1. I feel the same way about scales; they are just numbers to me. I base my weight levels on how I look in the mirror. I was never worried about what the scale has to say anyway because when I used to use them; different scales had different readings. Great post and I’m looking forward to more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Great goals girl! Can’t wait to see your success with these in the new year!!!

  3. I am with you 100% on the lose weight/diet ads. This year I’ve kept myself away from a lot of that media, but it still creeps up everywhere!
    THose are some really good goals, they inspired me to set some similar ones. 🙂

  4. Such great goals!! You definitely need to try those doughnuts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

