WIAW #12: Hot Flash Edition

Hey, bloggies! How’s your week going so far? Mine has actually been pretty amazing, especially because tomorrow I get to go into the vault at my school’s art museum for one of my classes. We do this every other week or so, and it’s an experience unlike any other. I’m so pumped!

Somehow, though, my week has already seemed very long. Is anyone else feeling this way? Yesterday it was Tuesday, but it totally felt like a Thursday. Maybe it’s just early onset of the February “blahs”? Whatever it is, at least I have yummy food to make this month easier to get through (the countdown to graduation is ON!).

Fortunately, yesterday Mother Nature had a bit of a hot flash; it was almost 60*F outside! Such a glaring change from Sunday’s white-out snow storm called for a refreshing breakfast, popped amaranth. In the winter I often forget about this recipe, but it’s really so simple and filling that I should make it more often. Dually noted!

***

I thoroughly enjoyed switching campuses between classes yesterday because it meant I got to enjoy the beautiful weather and sunshine. In fact, when lunch time rolled around, the sunshine had me craving another warm weather-inspired treat, a kale salad and So Delicious coconut milk greek yogurt (!).

This lunch could not have been more perfect. I loved the different textures from the 2 different kinds of greens (romaine, kale), mixed veggies (yellow/wax beans, peas, broccoli, red bell pepper), and beans (black beans).

To top it all off, I used the most amazing dressing, which was actually leftover curry sauce from last nights’ dinner. Last night it was good warm, but today it blew. my. mind.

Not only was it delicious, but it also effictively wilted my raw kale and made it deliciously chewy. Yum!

As for the coconut milk greek yogurt, I’m in love. Seriously, I’m speechless about how awesome it is. If you’re vegan (and even if you’re not), go buy some ASAP. You’ll thank me later ;).

***

After school and an energizing hot yoga practice, I came home to a pumpkin protein donut. Last time I tried this new recipe, I made it into bars and it was gone within days. This time, however, I think my donuts will be gone even sooner because I just cannot resist the fun shape. Why do things always seem to taste better when molded into cute designs?

***

Dinner was a no-brainer. I had a roasted purple sweet potato with tempeh bacon, asparagus, roasted red peppers, and sauteed kale. Although I love my raw kale, this cooked kale recipe has really stolen my heart. It’s the perfect mix between soft steamed kale and crunchy kale chips. I can’t wait to share it with you all!

***

Dessert included several of my new gluten-free ginger pear bars and slices of roasted kabocha squash (no surprise there haha). It looks like I have yet another recipe to share with you all!

Love.

Speaking of which, do any of you use Recipage? Now that it’s free (wahoo! Thanks, Emily!), I’m thinking about imputting all of my old recipes and all of the new ones I have written in my notebook + ready to share. What do you think?

Thank you again to Jen @ Peas and Crayons for another great What I Ate Wednesday!

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

P.S. I just started a Facebook page for Kabochavore.com. Please head on over (click here) and say hello :).

7 responses to “WIAW #12: Hot Flash Edition

  1. It’s been really warm here too, which is awesome! 🙂 I totally need a doughnut pan. Everyone has these amazing looking doughnuts!

    • No complaints from me, either. Keep the warm weather coming! Donut pans really are fun to play with, but if you can always use a muffin pan and just increase the baking time, too. I’m not sure if you have a Meijers where you live (maybe it’s a midwest thing?), but they sell donut pans super cheap. I got mine on sale, too!

      Have a lovely day!

  2. All of your food looks delicious. Do you have the donut recipe on your site somewhere? Sounds good!

  3. I totally need to get a donut pan! Definitely makes things more fun!

  4. Everything looks delicious!
    I’ve been on such a kale kick lately. Whether it’s raw, cooked, or in a smoothie, I just can’t get enough. (:
    And I’m addicted to the So Delicious Greek Yogurt. Their products are amazing.

  5. I am intriqued by your doughnuts. Will have to look around for your recipe!

  6. Pingback: Donuts & Doors | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

