Red Velvet Donuts

Hey there! How’s your weekend going so far?

Mine has been pretty busy (as usual). Yesterday I spent a good part of the day working on a AP French video project. Since I haven’t worked with iMovie very much before, it took a loooong time to figure things out. Luckily, I’m almost done, and I think it’ll be pretty fun to watch when it’s done (albeit quite embarrassing as well). Maybe I’ll even post it here for fun—who knows!

Speaking of fun, I can’t wait to get back in the kitchen today. After I finish writing a paper about Dostoyevsky’s Notes From Underground, I plan to do some meal prepping for the week. It’s going to be a busy one, for sure.

In preparation for Valentine’s Day, though I already made this recipe for vegan red velvet donuts for a little inspiration. When I was younger, I remember celebrating V-Day with a special breakfast: chocolate frosted donuts, complete with heart-shaped sprinkles. Although I prefer a heartier breakfast nowadays, I can’t help but smile at the memory of savoring each and every bite of that special treat.

Sticky chocolate frosting would always coat my little fingers as sprinkles fell everywhere. I swear I’m still finding sprinkles in the strangest places.

This Valentine’s Day, I encourage you to find you inner child, just like I did while making these. As I photographed these donuts, icing dripped all over me, and afterwards, I even found sprinkles in my hair.

And all I could do was smile.

Vegan Red Velvet Donuts

Makes ~10-12 donuts

  • 1 cup cake flour OR AP Gluten-Free
  • 2 TBS cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar OR NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend
  • 1.5 tsp Enger-G Egg Replacer + 2 TBS warm water OR 1 TBS flax meal + 3 TBS warm water
  • 1/3 cup soy milk + 1 tsp apple cider vinegar + 10 minutes to “curdle”
  •  2 TBS coconut oil OR Earth Balance, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp distilled vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • natural/vegan red food coloring, as desired
  1. Preheat oven to 375*F. Grease a donut pan with cooking spray.
  2. Combine flour,cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, and sugar/stevia in a large bowl.
  3. Add in soy milk mixture and egg replacer (i.e. Energ-G prepared or flax prepared), and Earth Balance/coconut oil.
  4. In a very small bowl, combine vinegar and baking soda. It should start to fizz. Stir in vanilla.
  5. Add the mixture in the very small bowl (step 4) to the large bowl (with everything else—aka step 3). Stir well.
  6. Slowly stir in red food coloring until desired effect is reached.
  7. Fill each donut crevice about 2/3 full (~3 TBS of batter). Tap the pan on the counter to even out the batter.
  8. Bake for 10-11 minutes, or until batter has just come together. Let donuts sit in pan for 5 minutes before removing. Place on a wire rack to cool.
  9. Frost with your favorite (vegan) buttercream frosting or simple glaze.

Happy early Valentine’s Day!

Mandiee

P.S. I’m working on updating my recipe page. I’m also looking into working with Recipage. Tips?

4 responses to “Red Velvet Donuts

  1. Yum! Those look like some fun donuts!

  2. Oh yummy, what a fantastic variation – perfect for Valentine’s day 😀

  3. Um, did you forget to add in a few steps? Like when to put int he sugar & oil? Just tried to make it & guessed where those part came in but it was pretty unsuccessful. Bummed.

  4. Phew! I’m hoping you can just delete my other post now that the problem has been fixed. Thank you soo much for the corrections! I cannot wait to try these again. (& I will, of course, post about my coming success & love for this recipe.) I actually went with, and will probably go with, the flax mixture since it’s my favorite replacer. But if you think the Bob’s Red Mill’s egg replacer is worth it then I’ll definitely check it out. Thank you again for the corrections! I can’t wait to see how they turn out & what other fun recipes I still have to check out from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

