WIAW #13: Quick & Easy Edition

Hi again! How’s your week going so far? I hope you all had a wonderful Valentine’s Day :). Mine was nothing out of the ordinary–just school, yoga, homework, etc.–but still special none the less. My mom gave me a beautiful bouqet of pink tulips, which really made my day. It’s all about the little things, right?

My grandmother also told me a story that warmed my heart. On Sunday, when she was at church, the priest spoke about how important it is to reach out and touch somebody to show them that you care. At the end of the mass as my grandmother was getting up to leave, she felt a light touch on her shoulder. When she looked behind her back, she found a face smiling back at her. The lady explained that she just wanted to reach out and touch my grandmother to share the love she felt in her heart. Although the lady was gone as quickly as she appeared, the love and kindness she imparted lingered on.

On that note, it’s WIAW time. I don’t know about you, but I’m most definitely loving my veggies!

I had two big tests today, so breakfast was fast + easy. Fortunately I made a batch of apple nutmeg muffins and protein pumpkin spice donuts (in bar form this time) a few days ago for snack-y mornings like these.

I also had a So Delicious strawberry coconut milk greek yogurt, because, why not? I just can’t get enough!

Lunch, unfortunately, was rushed as well since my test got out late. I’m so glad I packed something portable for once; cold quinoa, especially when topped with balsamic roasted eggplant and portobellos, really does taste great for lunch, espcially since it powers me through the rest of my day.

Being able to enjoy the beautiful sunshine on my way to my next class was a nice treat. As much as I dislike cold weather, I think there is nothing more beautiful than large flakes of snow tumbling to the ground on a sunny day. Love!

At dinner, I finally got a chance to sit down. Wahoo! In all seriousness, I was totally multitasking while making it, though. While I made the usual sweet potato and tofu plate, I also roasted an extra sweet potato and some veggies to make tomorrow’s lunch + dinner prep a breeze. Healthy eating often takes some prepping, but the extra thought really makes a difference. I’m so much more productive when I have good food to keep me energized!

Things to talk about: What’s your go-to lunch? I’m in need of some inspiration!

Mandiee

6 responses to “WIAW #13: Quick & Easy Edition

  1. All your eats look great! My go to lunch is usually a sandwich with a side of fruit or veggies. 🙂

  2. Your lunch sounds delicious…eggpland AND portobello mushrooms…yum…

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    That lunch looks delicious! Love all the veggies and the baked tofu! It looks extra crispy…just the way I like it!

  4. I like to double up on dinner prep to make lunch easy…or I make a big batch of soup/stew and pre-portion it into to-go containers so I can just grab them in the morning.

    Healthy eating DOES require prep work. Maybe that’s why so many of us are Type A individuals? 🙂 [Not that you are. But I am!]

  5. I live alone yet i have never cooked for one. If i am cooking i aaaaalllways make several servings- extra roasted veggies, extra soup, roastes tofu, everything. My lunches are a wrap with hummus/edamame hummus, and leftover roasted veg/tofu/grain and bean salad or eggless salad, or the all time classic of pb and j with veggies on the side (fresh apple slices and pb are also a great version!)

  6. That is the most nutritious quick and easy food I have seen in a LONG time. Great job girl!

Leave a Reply

