Remedies for Feeling Under the Weather

Hey bloggies! I don’t know about you, but I’m definitely up for some savory recipes right about now. Valentine’s Day always gives me an excuse to eat copious amounts of dark chocolate (or really, just more than usual; dark chocolate is my love), but by the end of the week I never fail to crave something a little less…chocolatey?

 

After all, man can’t live on chocolate alone. (But chocolate and veggies? Now that’s something I could go for!)

On that note, I can’t wait to share my new recipe for balsamic roasted vegetable quinoa. It’s relatively simple and soo delicious. However, I’m feeling a little under the weather, so it will have to wait a day.

I’m not sick per say, but I’m definitely not feeling my best. I have really bad allergies, and when the weather changes rapidly or I’m really stressed, they get aggravated. Considering both of those things happened this week, I’m not really surprised by my body’s response. Luckily, I’ve learned how to deal with it over the past few years. Here are my top 5 remedies for feeling better while you’re under the weather as well as an article I found about usual remedies. Cheers to good health!

Sleep. Resting for a solid 8-9 hours a night gives our bodies time to restore and keeps us healthy. When we’re feeling under the weather, it becomes more important than ever to allow our bodies to fight off whatever is plaguing us. Whether it’s going to bed earlier and sleeping more at night or taking a nap, make sure to catch some extra zzz’s.

Drink hot tea. Hot tea not only soothes your throat, but also provides your body with antioxidants to fight off infection. I drink a special “health tea” from India (more on this another time), but any tea will do. I find camomile and other herbal teas to be the most soothing.

Eat plenty of fruits and vegetables. This one goes without saying: you are what you eat. If you feed your body healthy, vibrant food, you will feel energized in no time.

Acro Yoga

Move. Exercise is a great stress reliever and keeps our bodies functioning properly. If you’re feeling a little bit under the weather, try something restorative like yoga or a light walk. I almost always feel 1000x better after a little yoga sesh.

 

 Spice it up. Warming spices like curry powder, ginger, and cayenne are the perfect way to heat your body from the inside out. They’re also great for clearing your sinuses. Try a quick vegetable curry, ginger tea, or spicy hot chocolate to fuel you through the day.

 

And for your reading pleasure, here’s an article called Coffee, Sex, and Other Weird Ways Not to Get Sick. Enjoy!

 

What’s your favorite remedy for feeling under the weather? Do share!

 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

 

 

One response to “Remedies for Feeling Under the Weather

  1. These are great tips!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

