Balsamic Roasted Vegetable Quinoa

Happy President’s Day everyone! How’s your Monday going?

Mine has been pretty relaxing thanks to having the day off. I slept in, practiced yoga, worked on a new donut recipe, and even did some homework. It wasn’t  exactly the most patriotic way to celebrate this awesome guy’s birthday, but it was certainly needed since I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather. After taking my advice and getting lots of rest, I’m happy to report that I’m feeling much better!

And thanks to my renewed energy, I’ve been able to prep lots of food for the week. It’s going to be a busy one, so I know it’s absolutely essential that I have healthy food ready to go so I can stay energized.

One of the lunches I’m most excited about this week is a remake of the balsamic roasted vegetable quinoa I blogged about a few days ago. It’s light enough to keep me from feeling weighed down but filling enough to keep my mind focused on school work. Not to mention the balsamic roasted veggies are absolutely to die live for! I may or may not have eaten half the tray hot out of the oven before even adding it to the quinoa. Story of my life.

Balsamic Roasted Vegetable Quinoa

serves 2-3
  • 2 portobello mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 small eggplant
  • 1/2 cup dry quinoa
  • Dressing/marinade: 1/3 cup water + 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar + 1 TBS dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup roasted red peppers, chopped
  • scallions (optional), for garnish
  1. Preheat oven to 400*F. Lightly coat a roasting pan or cookie sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Cook quinoa. I like to use my rice cooker for this, but you can make it on the stovetop, too. Here’s one way how. 
  3. Meanwhile, salt eggplant: cut eggplant into ~1/2 inch thick round and lay them down close to each other on a flat surface. Sprinkle each round with a pinch of salt. Place paper a sheet of paper towels on top. (This will absorb the moisture as it sweats out.) Allow moisture to release for about 20-30 minutes. At this point either rinse off the extra salt and pat dry or simply use the paper towel to wipe off any excess salt and pat dry. Chop rounds into pieces that are about the same size as the chopped portobellos.
  4. In a large bowl, combine chopped portobellos and chopped eggplant.
  5. Whisk together 1/3 cup water, balsamic vinegar, and dijon mustard to make dressing. Pour half of the dressing over the portobellos and eggplant and reserve the other half for later. Toss the dressing with the veggies until well coated.
  6. Evenly spread dressed veggies in roasting pan. Bake for about 30-35 minutes, tossing occasionally.
  7. When the veggies and quinoa are done, toss them together along with the reserved dressing and roasted red peppers (if using). Garnish with scallions if desired. (I like it better without, but it definitely looks prettier with them—your call.)
  8. Serve warm or cold. (It’s even better after the flavors have melded overnight or for a day or two, so it’s perfect for lunches during the week. My favorite way to eat it is cold, but warm is great, too.)

 

Happy lunching!

 

Mandiee

4 responses to “Balsamic Roasted Vegetable Quinoa

  1. That looks great! And I love the name of your blog.

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    I love portabella mushrooms! Had some at lunch today actually! This bowl looks so delicious!

  3. I haven’t had quinoa in awhile – this inspires me to change that!

  4. Ohh this looks delicious! I just finished up my last bit of quinoa but will go pick up some more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

