WIAW #14: “Veggies are the Apple of My Eye” Edition

Hello, beautiful people! Happy hump day! How’s your week going so far?

I’m so excited to take part in Jen’s WIAW party @ Peas and Crayons again this week. I always love seeing what yummy things everyone’s enjoying and even sharing some of my own. Since it’s still Love Your Veggies month, I couldn’t help but take part. Vegetables are my favorite food group after all. Truth be told, I would eat them all day, every day if I could, but it’s all about balance right?

Breakfast: baked chocolate covered strawberry oatcake

Now that I can buy gluten-free oats at Trader Joes, I have been going crazy with adding oats to everything. In fact, this morning’s breakfast was centered around oats!

Baked oatmeal used to be one of my favorite breakfasts, and I’m so happy it’s back. The only difference I notice with these GF oats is that they seem to be thicker, chewier, and more absorbent than the ones I used to use.

I’m definitely a fan of the texture, but it requires a little different wet to dry ratio. I’ll post the recipe as I continue to revise it so you all can enjoy the taste of chocolate covered strawberries for breakfast, too. Yum!

***

Lunch: orange ginger stir-fry with broccoli slaw, sugar snap peas, carrots, and water chestnuts; (unpictured) apple and Mary’s Gone Crackers on the side for CRUNCH

Stir-fries are really the epitome of veggie-loving for me. I could honestly eat steamed veggies until the cows come home, but adding a creative sauce and stir-frying it up makes lunch feel extra special. Sometimes just making one little change to usual routine makes all the difference. It keeps things fresh!

***

Dinner: two curried sweet potato veggie burgers with roasted asparagus, roasted red bell peppers, and sauteed crispy kale and almonds; more Mary’s Gone Crackers on the side (I just can’t get enough!)

This plate was bursting with so many veggies that I could not even fit them all in the picture, and that’s just how I like it. I believe that you can never have too many veggies!

Veggie burgers are really just another excuse to eat more veggies in my mind. In fact, these homemade sweet potato curry burgers are actually true to their name, unlike so many commercial products; they really are made of just vegetables (plus some beans and oats, of course)!

***

I was unable to capture my snacks due to my busy school day, but I did get a chance to work on a new recipe for a healthy dessert, vegan + gluten-free coconut flour cookies with chocolate chunks. I can’t wait to share… the recipe, not the cookies, that is. With cookies this good, sometimes it’s hard to share. (Note: sharing is caring, though, and if I could give each and every one of you a fresh batch of warm cookies, I would. Anyone up for that? Haha.)

Vegan marshmallows from Sweet and Sarah may or may not have also been involved. Hey, they’re not exactly paczki, but I think I paid my Polish ancestors homage anyway.

Did you enjoy a Fat Tuesday treat? And what’s your favorite way to eat veggies? Steamed, sauteed/stir-fried, or roasted?

***

Another big thanks to Jen for hosting this WIAW party. Check out more delicious eats hereΒ and keep lovin’ your veggies!

***

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

12 responses to “WIAW #14: “Veggies are the Apple of My Eye” Edition

  1. The oatcake you had for breakfast looks fabulous! Especially with the beautiful strawberries on top…I am so excited that berries are starting to come back into season!

  2. I feel the same way about steamed veggies…although I wish I were willing to take more time to ‘sauce them up’ on occasion.

    Your baked oatmeal looks lovely. That’s a recipe idea I’ve had on “the list” for ages now…

  3. All your eats look delicious!
    I would like to take a bite out of that baked chocolate breakfast cake right now! πŸ˜€

  4. Wow, your breakfast and dinner look amazing! I had a ton of soft serve ice cream (at lunch *and* dinner) as my Fat Tuesday treat. πŸ™‚

  5. Everything looks absolutely scrumptious! I love the addition of water chestnuts in stir fries! They add such a crunchy, crispy texture difference that I just adore!

  6. um, OMG i NEED the recipe for those veggie burgers. curried sweet potatoes are pretty much my favorite thing ever.

  7. Baked oats sound awesome! Chocolate makes it even better!

  8. I’ve never made baked oatmeal. I’m still an oatmeal newbie. Did you have to make them the night before?

  9. I thought I was being crazy with my pizza for breakfast and then you went and had a cake! haha. At least both of ours were healthy and gluten free. πŸ˜‰

  10. That chocolate covered oat cake sure is a neat idea. πŸ™‚

  11. hahaha i make my own mini apizzs too, i love them, mostly bc they are easy and easy to portion out for just one person yay soup recipes, i cant wait to start making some this winter!i can never ever get tired of eating wings, true story. or peanut butter for that matter. but not together. ok, maybe sometimes.Theresa recently posted..

Leave a Reply

