Cocoa Strawberry Baked Oatmeal

Hi, pies! How’s your weekend been?

It’s been pretty crazy over here, as per usual. I spent most of my Saturday writing a paper analyzing the success of the treaties of Vienna (1814-1815) vs.  Versailles (1919) as well as reading a crazy amount of information on the Bolshevik Revoution in Russia. Clearly my AP European History book and I were best friends this weekend.

I also went shopping with my grandmother. We’re on the hunt for pretty kitchen towels to use in my photos, preferably in lots of different colors. Unfortunately, it was kind of a wash out, but I did enjoy spending time with her. Oh, and all was not completely lost because we still walked out with a great find—a (soy) candle that smells like donuts! Yummmmm.

And now that it’s Sunday, I’m starting to think about prepping meals for the week. Since breakfast was so delicious + easy last week, I will probably try many more variations in the coming days.

For now, though, here’s my favorite recipe for baked oatmeal with cocoa and strawberries. My friend who watched me happily munch on it every day in AP Euro class actually mistook it for a brownie multiple times because of it’s delicious scent. Now that’s something worth waking up for!

Cocoa Strawberry Baked Oatmeal

Serves 1
  • 1/2 cup GF oats (40g)
  • 1 TBS cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (optional but highly recommended to enhance cocoa flavor)
  • stevia (or other sweetener), to taste
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk or water)
  • 2 strawberries, chopped
  • toppings of choice
  1. Preheat oven to 375* F. Grease a ramekin or small oven-safe bowl with cooking spray or coconut oil.
  2. In a small bowl, combine oats, cocoa powder, baking powder, cinnamon, and stevia.
  3. Stir in almond milk and chopped strawberries.
  4. Pour mixture into ramekin.
  5. Bake for 30-35 minutes. (*Tip: To save electricity, I usually bake this while I’m using the oven for other things. If you’re oven is at 350*F or 400*F for something else, it will still work; just adjust the cooking time accordingly.)
  6. Eat warm straight out of ramekin or allow to cool before using a knife to flip oatcake onto a plate/into a sealed container. I like to make mine the night before, let them cool, flip into a container, and take it to school with me the next day.

What’s your go-to breakfast? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

2 responses to “Cocoa Strawberry Baked Oatmeal

  1. I LOVe this bake!! such great flavours!

  2. Pingback: WIAW #16: Idea Edition | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

