Maple Curry Roasted Cauliflower (Sweet + Spicy!)

I have a confession to make: I’m that person at the grocery store…you know, the one who gets so excited about her favorite product being on sale and proceeds to stock up like crazy, all while acting like it’s perfectly normal to not be able to see over her shopping cart.

But, in truth, I do thing a little bit differently. You usually won’t catch me heading for the aisles to look for the best ice cream, soup, or cereal deal. No, I frequent a different section: the produce department. It’s here that I found my bargain this week, cauliflower the size of my head, only 2 for $5.

Call me crazy, but I have a thing for cauliflower. Like broccoli, I eat cauliflower every day without fail. I just can’t get enough! In fact, I like it so much that I usually just stick to the same, simple way of preparing it (usually steaming or cauliflower rice). But not this week. Thanks to the great deal I found, I was able to venture into a whole different world where sweet and spicy roasted cauliflower tantalize every taste bud.

Spicy. Crispy. Sweet. Melt-in-you-mouth goodness…

Where was I? Oh, right. Shopping. If you would have seen me at the store, you probably would have thought I was preparing for winter hibernation or something, thanks to all the cauliflower I was carrying in my arms. 2 for $5? It’s like they’re asking me to buy more. Don’t mind if I do, actually.

It’s a good thing, too, because when I make a batch of this maple curry roasted cauliflower, there’s no stopping me. I may or may not have eaten the whole head by myself. And honestly, I’d gladly do it again. Being that person really does have its advantages.

Maple Curry Roasted Cauliflower (Sweet + Spicy!) 

  • 1 head of cauliflower, chopped into bite-sized pieces (about 4 cups)
  • 1 TBS curry powder
  • 2 tsp maple syrup (can sub agave or honey; use more or less depending on your preference; I like 1-2 tsp, but most people would probably like 1-2TBS)
  • pinch of salt (REALLY important; it makes the flavor come alive)
  • coconut oil
  1. Preheat oven to 400*F. Spray a roasting pan with cooking spray or grease with coconut oil (or any high-heat oil).
  2. In a large bowl, combine cauliflower, curry powder, maple syrup, and a pinch of salt. Drizzle with coconut oil. (The amount you use will depend on how wet your cauliflower is from washing. Since mine still had some water on it, I didn’t use much.) Toss to combine, making sure to coat each piece fully.
  3. Spread spiced cauliflower in an equal layer on the roasting pan.
  4. Bake for 30-35 minutes, depending on the size of your cauliflower and your crisp preference.
  5. Enjoy hot or cold (if you can wait that long). (The roasted cauliflower is especially good the next day after the flavors have melded. Eat it on cold salad beasts the next day… if it lasts that long!)

Are you a sale shopper? What’s your favorite thing to stock up on? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

4 responses to “Maple Curry Roasted Cauliflower (Sweet + Spicy!)

  1. Great idea! looks amazing (:

  2. nice! i love sweet and spicy together. and cauliflower are on sale here, too 🙂

  3. This recipe looks amazing I can’t wait to try it!

  4. Pingback: WIAW #15: Paper Edition | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

