WIAW #15: Paper Edition

Whew! I’m happy to say that just a few minutes ago I finished my AP European History paper on the successes and short-comings of different treaties. I wrote 4 pages of it over the weekend but ended up scraping most of it a few days ago. Sometimes I can just go-go-go, but other times I go through countless drafts. Writing is always an experiment, that’s for sure. What’s your writing style?

Anyway, enough about my paper; let’s get to the WIAW party over at Peas and Crayons. Here’s what’s powered me through paper writing (+ tons of snacks). I can’t say enough how important it is to fuel your brain with healthy foods; it really does make a difference!

” alt=”” border=”0″ />Breakfast: cocoa strawberry baked oatmeal + bits of an unpictured experiment

I actually made a blackberry lime variation with cinnamon for breakfast, too, but it ended up being sort of a flop. It tasted amazing, but I had a hard time getting it out of the ramekin. Thus back to the drawing board I go!

Lunch: salad beast with sugar snap peas, carrots, chickpeas, and hummus, featuring maple curry roasted cauliflower and other goodies; apple + Mary’s Gone Crackers on the side as per usual

I have a feeling I was “mmm”-ing while eating this since a few people curiously asked what I was enjoying. My maple curry roasted cauliflower ins’t exactly the standard bag of MnMs that the other studiers were munching on, but I’d venture to say I enjoy it more. I do love that sweet and spicy flavor!

Dinner: crispy teriyaki tofu with pan-toasted crispy kale, roasted red peppers, and roasted asparagus

(I filled up my plate multiple times—I still can’t figure out why this plate is so tiny haha)

I’m convinced that this kale is what got me through writing the paper. I always feel much more alert and energized after eating greens. I guess that’s why I love Green Monsters so much!

…chocolate banana soft serve, peanut butter, + coconut cookies (unpictured) as a dessert reward after finishing!

What do you eat while studying/working? Do you find that certain foods give you more energy than others?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

8 responses to “WIAW #15: Paper Edition

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Congrats on finishing the paper!! I love that feeling! Such a weight lifted off of your shoulders!!

  2. Congrats and YAY For being done!!! 🙂 I’m sure that Kale DID help 😉

    I need to get some and make more kale chips!

  3. Wow your choc banana soft serve looks so…. soft! lol
    And I love the look of your crispy tofu…

  4. Yummm! Everything looks so good! I bet that cauliflower is incredible. Congrats on finishing the paper. That’s the best feeling!

  5. My Congrats too on finishing the paper! Now, I can place an order for strawberry baked oatmeal (YUM!) to be served ASAP.

  6. I’m not sure that I have a consistent “work” snack…but when I was in college I definitely spent a lot of late night study sessions munching on a giant bag of candy I’d bought from bulk bins at the university snack bar/convenience store. NOT the healthiest choice…but man, I loved those sour watermelons and gummy worms. 🙂

  7. Your breakfast looks amazing! Chocolate and strawberries? What’s not to love?!

  8. I am definitely more energized when I consume real, whole foods. My food choices generally impact me the next day. If I have consumed some great choices I am full of energy the next day!

Leave a Reply

