A Delicious Lesson in Patience

Patience has not been one of my virtues lately. As April 1st approaches, all I can think about is college acceptance notifications. In all honesty, I’ve been waiting for this moment since I was in elementary school. Everything I’ve done since then has been preparation for college. Now that it’s almost here, it’s kind of surreal.

Needless to say, I’m one of those super-planning, over-acheiver, type A students. I’m also a cronic worrier, so knowing that admission decisions are now completely out of my hands is absolutely nerve-wracking. Fortunately, I’ve found a solution to my impatience… a way to channel my stress, if you will.

You know what they say: when life hands you lemons, make lemonade hazelnut butter. Okay, maybe that’s not what they say, but they definitely should. It’s certainly a delicious alternative, especially when enrobed in chocolate. But not too fast; we were talking about patience, right?

However, I should warn you. This recipe is test of patience for just about anyone. (Unless, of course, you use hazelnuts without skins; if you can get your hands on some, by all means, USE THEM!)  BUT, it is totally worth it regardless of what method you use, especially when making this nut butter allows you to make homemade nutella butter cups (like peanut butter cups, but BETTER). And all you really need is a kitchen towel and little time. Oh, and some patience. Definitely a lot of patience.

Fortunately, while taking the skins off the hazelnuts, I was so focused on my job that my college worries naturally melted away. At the end of the process, I was left with deliciously creamy and carmel-like hazelnut butter. Both my tasting spoon and mind were emptied! I’d say that was quite a win-win situation.

Maybe patience isn’t so hard after all…

Homemade Hazelnut Butter

Makes ~3/4 cup

  • 1-1/2 cups raw hazelnuts
  • brown rice syrup, to taste (I used ~1TBS)
  • safflower or other light oil (used to achieve desired preference; optional)
  • tiny pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350*F.

Spread hazelnuts out on a baking sheet (preferably with sides!) or brownie pan. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the most of the skins have blistered and a nutty aroma fills your kitchen.


Immediately place hot hazelnuts into a kitchen towel and cover them up. The heat inside the towel will cause the hazelnuts to stem and the skins to come off easily (or at least easier).

Vigorously rub hazelnuts in the kitchen towel to separate them of their skins. You will definitely need to put some muscle in it! (*Word to the wise: make sure your towel remains closed while you rub or else the hazelnuts will roll all over your kitchen.)

Remember, it doesn’t have to be perfect. Peeling hazelnut skins definitely taught be about patience and the limits of perfectionism.

Once most of the skins are off (it’s virtually impossible to get them all off), transfer the “naked” hazelnuts to a food processor. The blending process will be easier if they are still warm.

Process the hazelnuts until they turn into a more liquid-y state. This will take a several minutes (anywhere from 5-10), depending on the power of your food processor. First they will turn into a mealy, flour-like consistency; then they will butter-ify. Just be patient!
Add brown rice syrup, safflower oil, and salt to taste. Continue to process until desired consistency is reached. (If you plan to use this for homemade nutella butter cups (recipe to come), then keep the butter relatively thick. Store in the fridge for best results (although it’s more spread-able at room temperature).
***
Are you a patient person? What’s your favorite nut butter?
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
5 responses to “A Delicious Lesson in Patience

  1. Looks yummy! If you want to test your patience, try making croissants. ;). Good luck with your college admissions!

  2. Pingback: WIAW #17: Testing Overload Edition | kabochavore

  3. Patience is NOT my strong suit. I’m also not very good at sitting still. I fidget all the time. Keeping my fingers crossed you get accepted into the college of your dreams 🙂

  4. This looks amazing! But I’ve never heard of safflower oil, is there another oil that you could recommend for substitution?

    • Safflower oil is just a healthy, neutral-tasting oil. You can just use canola oil or any other light-tasting oil for best results. Let me know if you try it out; I hope you will enjoy the creamy, dreamy nut butter as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

