Healthy Red Velvet Pudding

Hey there! How are you doing today? I hope it’s a beautiful Thursday where you are.

Fortunately, the countdown to the weekend is on!

Source

As one of my friends said today, “After this test, my brain is officially taking a vacation for 2 weeks.” Whether you have fun weekend plans or are gearing up for 2 weeks of spring break like me, we can all use a little relaxation. Now that I don’t have to take another test until April, I’m ready to give myself brain a little break. Lots of baking is on the agenda… after sleeping, of course. I have to make up for all the lost time!

Speaking of baking, here’s a quick recipe I came up with this week due to my busy schedule. I was craving something chocolatey but also wanted something with a little sustenance to keep my brain alert. As a breakfast experiment, I decided to create a healthy red velvet pudding. It’s brimming with ruby red beets, dark chocolate cocoa powder, and dash of cinnamon. For staying powder, I also added a scoop of protein powder. I don’t know what it is lately, but my body is craving easily-digested protein.

Ask and you shall receive.

Healthy Red Velvet Pudding

Serves 1

  • 3 small steamed beets (130 g – about 3/4 cup chopped)
  • 1-1/2 TBS cocoa powder (dark chocolate preferred)
  • 4-6 TBS almond milk
  • dash cinnamon
  • stevia, to taste (I used ~1/2 packet NuNaturals Stevia)
  • 1 serving protein powder (I used Natural Sun Warrior; adjust sweetness if yours is sweetened)
  1. Add beets, cocoa powder, 4 TBS almond milk, cinnamon, stevia, and protein powder (if using) to a blender or food processor. (*Use a high-powered blender, like a Vita-Mix, for smoothest results.)
  2. Puree until smooth, adding more almond milk to get things going and achieve desired consistency.
  3. Enjoy chilled for best results.
What’s your favorite way to relax? Are you a beet fan? 
I used to be afraid of beets; something about the bright red color and strange sight of canned beets freaked me out. Now that I’ve tried the wonders of roasted beets, I love them. They’re sweet like candy!
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
7 responses to “Healthy Red Velvet Pudding

  1. BEETS ARE THE BEST!!!!! I am going to try this recipe for sure!!! Enjoy your Spring Break…looking forward to seeing some new recipes!!!

  2. sounds amazing! 😀

  3. Pingback: Double the Love! |

  4. that sounds so cool!!! i love beets so im sure it would be a hit. thank you!!!

  5. Wow. This sounds like one of those strange but great ideas that would occur when half-asleep for me. Healthy comfort food is what excites me most. Definitely going to try this. (and as to a vegan purple pancake recipe, I’ve not yet developed a vegan version, but my significant other went to a vegan pancake gathering recently so I’m gonna get tips from the host!! I’ll keep you posted.)

  6. Definitely going to try this…Looking very good in images…thanks

Leave a Reply

