Why I Love Vegan Baking

Reason #129284710382 Why I Love Vegan Baking: you can always eat the batter.

…Not that that ever stopped me before, but at least now I can eat as much cookie dough as I want without worrying about getting scary infections. Vegan baking is like God’s gift to baker’s… except for the fact that it gives me an excuse to eat all the dough before the oven has even finished preheating. Anyone else?

Anyway, today’s baking venture is particularly special because it’s for an exciting celebration. After many months of hard work and grueling waiting, yesterday I finally received acceptance to one of my favorite colleges. I am extremely grateful and actually wish I could hug all of the admissions staff in thanks.

On second thought, maybe baking would be more appropriate. But since I can’t ship this cake all the way to Minnesota, it looks like my family and I will have to enjoy it. I think we’ll manage…

In addition to receiving acceptance to that college, yesterday I also was invited to be apart of a prestigious business/internship program at another college and offered a scholarship at yet another. It was a good day.

But don’t worry, this isn’t going to turn into “The Mandiee Show.” I want you to share in the excitement, too, so I am giving away a fun new kitchen gadget to one of my readers. Thanks to Oxo, one of you will receive an awesome new Good Grips 5lb. Food Scale with Pull-Out Display.

I’ve been playing around with this scale lately and have enjoyed how easy it is to use. I’ve had other food scales in the past, but this is definitely one of my favorites. It’s sleek, accurate, and easy to use. It has all the buttons I need (kg/lb) and none that I don’t. The pull-out display also makes reading measurements a breeze when I use a big bowl and would not otherwise be able to see the display.

So the Good Grips Food Scale is pretty awesome, but you are probably wondering why you would need a food scale in the first place. (“Can’t I just use measuring cups?”) While that is true, food scales are extremely useful because they provide accuracy in baking (and are also good for those looking to lose/gain weight). I cannot tell you how important accuracy is in vegan + gluten-free baking. I always measure all my ingredients in grams for the best results.

So as I enjoy my gluten-free + vegan chocolate chip cookie dough cake, here’s how to win a Oxo Good Grips Food Scale of your own.

Manatory Entry:

  1. leave a comment on this post telling me what your favorite celebration dessert is OR how you chose your college

For additional entries do one (or all!) of these, and leave a comment here telling me what you did:

  • Like Oxo on Facebook (click here)
  • Like Kabochavore on Facebook (click here)
  • Follow me on Twitter (@Kabochavore) & tweet about this giveaway
  • Subscribe to my posts (see the top left side bar)
  • Link back to this giveaway on your blog

Note: giveaway open until Thursday, March 29 @ 11:59PM. Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

47 responses to “Why I Love Vegan Baking

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    My favorite celebration desert is strawberry shortcake on the 4th of July!! So good!

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    i subscribe!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    follow you on twitter!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Liked you on FB!

  5. my fav celebration desert is frozen yogurt! so i guess that means everday is a celebration 😉

  6. I “like” OXO on facebook!

  7. I “like” Kabochavore on facebook!

  8. I chose my college after I spent the night there. It was tough deciding between my two top choices, but now that I’m here, I know I made the right choice.

  9. haha I’ll answer both! My favorite celebration dessert is anything with vanilla ice cream! I went to Michigan and I chose it because I love football and had always watched them, and they are great in pretty much everything academically.

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  10. I like OXO on facebook!

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  11. following on twitter and tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/jfong1130/status/182303337897660416

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  12. Pingback: WIAW #18: Cake For Breakfast Edition | kabochavore

  13. my favorite celebration desert is warm chocolate cake with mint chocolate chip ice cream!

  14. Ahhh I also love the guilt-free feeling of licking the bowl after baking some vegan treats!

    I chose my college because when I set foot on the campus, it just felt like home. It was the perfect balance for me of having a true campus, but also being essentially in a city, having a downtown to go to, etc. Also balance of a social life but also good academics. Clearly, balance was key for me!

  15. Liked Oxo (I’m “Dare You To” page)

  16. My favorite celebration dessert is Chocolate Chip Muffins! Well, any sweet muffin really. Lol

    thank you for the review and giveaway!
    Manda
    avalenti6936 at yahoo dot com

  17. I “like” OXO on Facebook (Manda Valenti)

    thank you for the review and giveaway!
    Manda
    avalenti6936 at yahoo dot com

  18. I tried to “like” your page on Facebook but I could not find it. The link you posted took me to Facebook.com and I couldn’t find it in search reults. I tried 😦 lol (Manda Valenti)

    thank you!
    Manda
    avalenti6936 at yahoo dot com

  19. I follow you on Twitter as @MandaPanda428 and tweeted!

    thank you!
    Manda
    avalenti6936 at yahoo dot com

  20. Pingback: The Waiting Game [What I Ate Wednesday] | kabochavore

  21. my mom’s lemon meringue pie thanks

  22. like oxo on fb Julie A Scott Laws

  23. email subscriber

  24. my fave celebratory dessert is creme brulee!

  25. My favorite celebration dessert is tiramisu.

  26. College chose was purely based on location for me

  27. Like OXO on Facebook

  28. getfitwithjuju

    My fave celebratory dessert is red velvet cake/cupcake, whatever it is!! =]

  29. getfitwithjuju

    I liked OXO on facebook

  30. getfitwithjuju

    My choice of dessert is anything with red velvet cake!

  31. getfitwithjuju

    I retweeted your giveaway!

  32. Thanks for an awesome giveaway! I love cheesecake and love to try new ones – especially healthy ones!

  33. I liked Oxo on Facebook!

  34. I liked Kabochavore on Facebook!! =)

  35. Sorry, I don’t use Twitter, but if I did, I would follow you… =(

  36. Anything chocolate. My fave right now is the chocolate chunk cookies at Whole Foods Vancouver

  37. ok so I liked oxo on FB, followed you on twitter and tweeted about the giveaway, and liked you on FB! YAH!

  38. I chose my college by visiting and spending the day walking around. Regardless of anything you read or learn about a college, if you’re stuck between a few (relatively) equal choices, walk on campus and you’ll know.

  39. Mooncake! (but without the yolk! Nasty…)

  40. I wanted to go to my college ever since I was about ten… I visited and fell in love with how beautiful the campus is!

  41. OK I tried to like you on facebook but the link on this pg is bad takes me to my home pg and tried searching for you and still could not find you even though I do want to follow you.

  42. My favorite celebration dessert is Cheescake any flavor

  43. I now subscribe to your post

  44. Pingback: Food from the Day [What I Ate Wednesday] | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

