WIAW #18: Cake For Breakfast Edition

Hey hey hey! How’s your Wednesday going? Have you entered by giveaway yet? (Click here to do so!)

Today is pretty chill around here after an exciting Monday. Yesterday I spent most of the day working on a new recipe, vegan + gluten-free cookie dough cake with creamy chocolate avocado frosting. Because of that, my eats were pretty out of the ordinary, so today’s What I Ate Wednesday is going to be a little…different.

I stayed up pretty late Monday night reading a new book, The Help, and exploring every nook and cranny of one of my colleges’ websites. I’m pretty convinced it’s perfect; if I don’t get accepted anywhere else, I know I’d be happy going there. ❤

Anyway, because of my late night, I woke up pretty late yesterday. I’m definitely taking full advantage of spring break by listening to my body’s natural queues. However, sometimes that means not eating right after waking up. SInce I wasn’t very hungry, I proceeded to bake a celebration cake. I certainly had enough cake to qualify as a meal, though. I had to try it to make sure the photos were worth snapping.

(Oh, and they were. They most certainly were.)

I think that since this cake involves whole grains (buckwheat + oats), healthy fats (coconut + avocado), veggies (pumpkin), fruit (banana + avocado), and a good amount of protein, it qualifies as a meal. So that means I can eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Am I right?

I continued my dessert-y day by eating a chocolate protein smoothie (pumped up with spinach!) and a steamed veggie salad for “lunch.” I wasn’t very hungry after all the cake taste-testing, but I did have a serious hankering for some sort of protein and greens. Problem solved.

I snacked on some fruit, nuts, and a little more cake before going to yoga… you know, just to make sure it was okay. (And yes, it most definitely was.) After yoga, though, I couldn’t imagine eating anything more sweet. Savory for dinner it was!

Stir-fried veggies (kale, red cabbage, asparagus, red bell peppers, purple sweet potatoes) were really the only thing that sounded good, but I decided to add a block of tofu to pump it up.

However, despite my efforts, my hunger randomly appeared with a vengeance. Many snacks followed, as well as some more cake. What can I say, I’m in love with this cake (and it’s so healthy, it’s crazy!).

What kinds of delicious food are you enjoying today? And what’s the best dessert you’ve had lately?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

9 responses to “WIAW #18: Cake For Breakfast Edition

  1. Looks yummy! I hope you’ll be posting the recipe….

  2. oh my goodness that cake is making my mouth water! please share the recipe!

  3. Your sugarlicious day looks yummo, especially the pie. 🙂 Loved The Help, movie was good too, but the book was great!

  4. Your reasoning is totally correct….cake for breakfast is certainly justifiable in my world!

  5. I know now what I am using my ripe avocado for. YUM.

  6. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    The Help is fantastic! Definitely one you read fast.

  7. The cake and veggies look yummy! WIAW makes me hungry 🙂

  8. Your cake looks absolutely delicious and packed with nutrition! I’m on a mission at the moment to turn cake eating into a guilt free pleasure by cramming my cakes full of nutritional goodness. I can’t wait to give your’s a try. It looks amazing!

  9. Cake for breakfast? Yes please! 😀
    As always, I am loving all your eats!

Leave a Reply

