Raspberry White Chocolate Chip Scones

Hey there, beautiful people! How was your weekend? I hope you enjoyed some yummy treats!

I had a pretty relaxing but busy weekend. My favorite part was definitely hanging out with my mom! I often don’t get to see her very much—she works a lot—so quality time is always a treat.

I also babysat a 10-year-old girl. We always have a great time together! This time we took to the kitchen and made chocolate-covered pretzels with carmel twists. (More info to come; I have lots of photos to sort through since she was my little photography helper.)

It was so much fun! I also brought raspberry white chocolate chip scones for her family to enjoy. Bringing a treat with me is definitely becoming a tradition. I’ve already brought donuts and cookies, so this time I wanted to try something a little bit different.

Well, these were exactly what I was looking for. I often forget about scones since they’re not the usual cookie-brownie-cupcake-donut thing, but they’re always a crowd pleaser regardless. My family is especially in love with them because of our British roots.

Since these scones are vegan and refined-sugar free, they’re not exactly traditional, but I think my British great-grandmother would be proud anyway. On the scone spectrum, these are more doughy and moist rather than hard and dry. Perfect for serving with afternoon tea!

However, I admit I’m a little bit early with the berry inspiration; the warm weather is upon us but the fresh raspberry crop is not. Fortunately, you can easily use frozen raspberries (which is what I did) to enjoy these berry-filled treats all year round.

As my official taste-tester, my uncle, would say, “These should go on the ‘If you own a bakery someday’ list.” Maybe I should start considering this possibility more seriously? Who knows!

Raspberry White Chocolate Chip Scones 

Makes about 11-12 scones

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 TBS baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1/3 cup  agave
  • 1 TBS vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup raspberries (fresh or frozen)
  • For the glaze: 1/2 cup white chocolate chips + 1/2 tsp coconut oil (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F. Grease cookie sheet or line with parchment paper/silicon baking mat.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Add in oil, agave, and vanilla extract. Mix until a thick, dry batter starts to form.
  4. Stir in hot water until wetter batter comes together.
  5. Gently stir in white chocolate chips and raspberries. Mix until evenly distributed.
  6. Use an ice-cream scoop with a spring (or just a measuring cup) to drop ~1/3 cup of the batter on the cookie sheet. Lightly brush the tops of the scones with a little extra oil, if desired.
  7. Bake for 14-16 minutes, flipping the cookie sheet half-way through.
  8. Remove scones from the oven and let stand on cookie sheet for at least 10-15 minutes to set.
  9. Drizzle with white chocolate chip glaze. To make: melt 1/2 cup white chocolate chips in the microwave or on a double boiler. Stir in coconut oil, if using. Use a fork to drizzle over scones.

~~~~~~

Notes: this recipe is completely adaptable. For the flour, you can make it gluten-free by using Bob’s Red Mill AP gluten-free flour, or simply make the scones a little more nutritious with whole wheat pastry or spelt flour. For the oil, use canola oil or another light oil (like safflower), or add an extra depth of flavor with coconut oil. For the agave, you can also try honey or maple syrup (though it will change the flavor). And, finally, you can use commercial or vegan white chocolate chips (which you can order online). The vegan white chocolate chips are hard to find, so just make sure to check the ingredients of the ones you use if remaining completely dairy-free is a concern.

~~~~~~

What nationality is your family? What are your favorite traditional ethnic desserts? 

 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

 

2 responses to “Raspberry White Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. Yum! I’m definitely going to give these a try. We’ve been trying to get rid of refined sugar, and use honey in place of that, so I think these would work well! 🙂

  2. Umm yeah, pretty much drool worthy!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

Leave a Reply

