Salad Morning, Noon, and Night [What I Ate Wednesday]

Heya, bloggies! How’s your week going so far?

Now that I’m back in school after a two week spring break, mine is busy as usual. I only have ~6 weeks until the end of my senior year, so we have a lot to fit in! Fortunately, after that I get to enjoy the final few weeks until graduation by doing an internship for my “Senior May project”. I will be going back to my elementary school to work with junior kindergartners. I can’t wait!

Among other things, I hope to teach the 4 and 5 year olds to try new things (especially vegetables at lunch haha!). In fact, today I put my lesson to good use by trying something new for breakfast. Without further ado, here’s this week’s What I Ate Wednesday…salad style!

This morning I had a breakfast salad with romaine lettuce, strawberries, blueberries, apples, and bananas. For my dressing, I mixed hemp protein powder, cocoa powder, pumpkin, and stevia. It was delicious!

Since I ate it during my free period at 9AM, I was a little worried that my friends would think my breakfast salad was weird. They’re pretty used to my monstrous green eats, but even this was a little more unconventional than usual, even for me. Fortunately, they embraced it with open arms! Many of them told me it looked really good and that they were going to try the combo at home soon. I think it had something to do with the chocolate sauce. Chocolate can win over almost anyone.

Part of my lunch included my second salad of the day. This time, my salad was eaten savory style. Since I had already had greens for breakfast, I felt pretty energized and was excited to enjoy the crunch of more fresh food.

My salad of romaine lettuce, steamed broccoli, sugar snap peas, green beans, and chickpeas with a spicy mustard dressing certainly did not disappoint! It was simplicity at its finest.

Although my dinner did not include a traditional (or untraditional in the case of breakfast haha) salad, I still made sure to get in my greens. My nightly sauteed kale is easily one of my favorite things to eat. I change up the flavors and the type of kale so I don’t get bored. Tonight’s version included pan-crisped dinosaur kale with a dash of Braggs Liquid Aminos.

Now I look forward to my kale every night!

Eating so many greens today has really made me feel amazing! I really must do this more often. In fact, I think breakfast salads are going to be a new staple. There’s nothing like fresh food to get you going in the morning.

***

I hope that you are inspired to eat your greens as well. If nothing else, try to add an extra serving of veggies to your plate at every meal. Just that little healthy habit adds up and makes you feel great.

What’s your favorite green vegetable or salad combination? What do you think of the breakfast salad idea?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

6 responses to “Salad Morning, Noon, and Night [What I Ate Wednesday]

  1. your second salad is so green! i love it!

  2. you definitely got your greens in today! that chocolate hemp sauce sounds awesome 🙂

  3. Your salads look delicious. Love the idea of a breakfast salad! Genius!

  4. A sweet salad for breakfast? Genius! I have been struggling with ways to add veggies to my breakfast, since I like sweet breakfast and I’m not a huge smoothie fan. My usual bowl of oats doesn’t lend itself very well to veggies, and it’s getting too warm out for that every morning anyways. That salad is the perfect solution. I am trying it tomorrow! Thanks for a great I dea!

  5. Look at you – tons of yummy greens!
    I love sautéed greens. Chard is my yummy fave right now with some cider vinegar, red pepper flakes, and some crumbled bacon. Nom Nom

  6. Do you go to University of Chicago Laboratory Schools?
    I graduated last year after completing my may project, and I cant imagine any other school doing may projects..

Leave a Reply

