Snow in April [What I Ate Wednesday]

Oh, hello there! How’s your week shaping up?

Have you ever had one of those days where absolutely nothing sounds good? While packing my lunch Monday night, I was pretty excited about my usual salad duo (breakfast + lunch). Come Tuesday at school, even my delicious packed food didn’t sound all that appealing. Regardless, I still got in some veggies in celebration of Jenn’s What I Ate Wednesday. The show must go on!

For breakfast, I had a slight variation on last week’s breakfast salad with chcolate dressing (recipe here).

Even though my appetite wasn’t feeling it, my taste buds most certainly were. I’m pretty sure I could eat breakfast salads for the rest of my life; they’re just so refreshing!

However, I wasn’t so lucky at lunch time. We had a long assembly at school yesterday, so my lunch was delayed until almost 2PM. By that time I was so hungary I had lost all my appetite. Does that ever happen to anyone else?

In addition, the cold weather whipped my salad cravings right away. It was actually snowing as I walked to lunch! Um, Mother Nature, don’t you know it’s April? Please send some warmer weather our way… or at least some april showers instead of snow. Please and thank you.

I didn’t have much time to eat lunch, nor was I very enthousiastic about eating my beautiful, cold salad (seriously, who am I?), so I just ate what I could and supplemented with the snacks I had in my backpack. I always travel prepared!

Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to have a warm dinner. I roasted some veggies in the oven and made crispy tofu on the stove top. If the warmth of the satisfying, hot meal didn’t warm me up inside, the heat from the oven sure did. I devoured my meal before I even had a chance to snap more than one picture. Looks like my appetite returned, after all.

After dinner, I worked on a new dessert, vegan banana donuts. I had originally planned to make the donuts, lightly glaze them in coconut milk + powdered sugar, then dip them in toasted coconut.

However before I had the chance, my family devoured half the batch! I guess that’s the test of a good donut: loving them even without icing.

Does your appetite change depending on the weather? How do you transition swiftly from one season to the next?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

8 responses to “Snow in April [What I Ate Wednesday]

  1. Your fruit salad looks beautiful…I love all the vibrant colors!

  2. In the summer, I definitely like cold, fresh foods like smoothies.

  3. I want a donut, they look fantastic.

  4. Everything looks delicious, especially the Breakfast Salad…what a great idea!

  5. I bought a donut pan several months ago but have only used it about 2 times! After seeing your delicious vegan donuts, I realize that it’s time to break out that pan and start baking! And vegan treats are the best because you can eat the dough : )

  6. Everything looks delicious, especially dinner and donuts, without icing you can feel the flavour better!
    Talking about appetite, i am not sure if it change depending on weather, but i hate cold food in cold time, i can eat cold breakfast only if i have a hot drink to slurp after every bite,ha!

  7. i totally know what you mean about nothing sounding good. usually that means i’m getting sick. then i just start eating bread and smoothies haha

  8. Way to eat your veggies! I love the idea of a breakfast salad.

Leave a Reply

