18 Things for 18 [What I Ate Wednesday]

Hey there, beautiful people! (Side note: does anyone else love when someone calls them that? My yoga teacher called me beautiful yesterday, and it made me smile. Anyway.) How’s your Wednesday shaking up?

Today is a particularly special day over here. Not only is it What I Ate Wednesday  (veggie edition—Jenn, you’re after my own heart!), but it’s also my 18th birthday. It’s hard to believe, but now I’m finally an adult…technically, at least. So what kind of things can I do now that I’m 18? Here’s 18 examples to commemorate the day:

  1. Sue someone/be sued
  2. Work more hours (no more child labor laws for me!)
  3. Buy spray paint
  4. Rent a hotel room
  5. Skydive
  6. Become an undercover cop
  7. Buy a monkey (with a license)
  8. Drive an ice cream truck
  9. Enter a contest/sweepstakes (i.e., “You must be 18 or older” –> That’s me!)
  10. Become a flight attendant
  11. Vote
  12. Get married/divorced
  13. Rent an apartment
  14. Change your name
  15. Pay a utility bill (boo!)
  16. Work with out needing to take breaks (I’m going to miss those!)
  17. Start your own business
  18. Have the freedom and independence you didn’t have before

While some of these are a little rediculous (can you really see me skydiving?), I am pretty excited about the normal rights, such as voting and renting an aprartment.

What was most exciting about your 18th birthday? How did you celebrate? 

***

And now, without further ado, What I Ate Wednesday: Birthday Edition!

center>

Breakfast

My breakfast wasn’t actually all that interesting. (It was a breakfast salad, if you were wondering—Yum!) However, I’m currently working on a recipe that would start anyone’s day off right: vegan apple crumble muffins with streusel topping. I can’t wait to share the recipe!

**

Lunch: salad with sundried tomato lentil burgers, roasted asparagus, and roasted broccoli

I made a batch of sundried tomato lentil burgers this weekend so lunch prep would be a breeze. I used Trader Joe’s precooked lentils so even making the burgers was easy. Healthy eating is all about knowing how to make it work for you. It’s hard to make excuses when everything is so simple!

**

Dinner: leftover lentils with roasted purple sweet potatoes, asparagus, red bell peppers, and kale (with lots of nooch!)

I definitely fulfilled my veg-pledge this week by centering my dinner around my favorite veggies. Sometimes I just crave a huge plate of roasted veggies. In truth, I would eat roasted vegetables all day, every day if I could.

For a little balance, though, I was happy to add some lentils to the meal. Not only are these Trader Joe’s lentils fast and easy, but they’re also delicious! I love to eat them cold, straight out of the refrigerator. Yum!

I can’t wait for today’s special birthday eats today. My mom is taking me to Chipolte after yoga, so I see lots of yummy black beans and guacamole in my future. I see a kabocha squash “cake” coming up, too. I may be 2 years older and wiser (I hope!), but I guess not much has changed since I was sixteen.

What are you eating today? What kind of cake do you like on your birthday? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

11 responses to “18 Things for 18 [What I Ate Wednesday]

  1. You say it’s your birthday!?
    It’s my birthday too, yeah!
    You say it’s your birthday!?
    We’re gonna have a good time!
    And now that it’s your birthday–
    Happy birthday to youu!
    (Yay Beatles!)
    No, but really. It’s my birthday too. I’ve always wanted to sing that to someone. 🙂

  2. wow pumpkin as cake?

  3. Happy Birthday!!!
    Eighteen is an important birthday,ain’t it? I will turn sixteen next month and i can not imagine being 18 – something serious and adult like 🙂

  4. I had my high school graduation reception on my birthday, but that was four years ago already 🙂 I’ve actually requested fruit pizza (drizzled with chocolate of course) in place of cake for a lot of my birthdays.

  5. HAPPY 18th BIRTHDAY! I hope you have an amazing and super special day! 🙂

  6. HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYY!! 18 is exciting 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday! It’s amazing that you’re so healthy already and I love when I get compliments from instructors too!

  8. Happy Birthday! Enjoy your day and your Chipotle, yum!!

  9. happy birthday! Beautiful stuff!

  10. Happy Birthday! I hope you do something special. Your sun-dried lentil burgers with roasted asparagus and roasted broccoli look tasty! 🙂

  11. Love that “cake” picture at the end! My 18th birthday was on April 1st just a few weeks ago. Happy Birthday fellow April baby. I celebrated mine with friends, scooby doo, a rainbow cake and a WIAW post 😀

Leave a Reply

